Go to Golf Legends Homepage The most comprehensive site on Golf Legends and the Majors (major golf tournaments)

PGA Championship

The PGA Championship is a golf tournament conducted annually by the Professional Golfers Association of America as part of the PGA TOUR. The PGA Championship is one of the four modern majors in men's championship golf. It is usually played midway around the 3rd quarter of the year.



  • LinkAway Golf






During the laying of the cornerstone for the PGA in Jan 17, 1916, the idea for a national championship was conceived. Department store magnate Rodman Wanamaker, who hosted the meeting, would provide a trophy for the competition, as well as an initial purse of $2,580 for the match-play event.

The first PGA Championship was played in 1916 at Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, N.Y. But it would be five years before an American-born PGA Professional claimed the Championship. England's Jim Barnes won the inaugural Championship, but the event was interrupted for two years by World War I. Barnes came back in 1919 to capture his second consecutive Championship and began his own era of domination. Hagen would go on to post his record-tying five PGA Championships in the 1920s. Gene Sarazen would claim victories in 1922, '23 and '33.

Denny Shute captured the PGA Championship title in 1936 and 1937, becoming the first back-to-back winner before Tiger Woods in 2000. The baptism of Byron Nelson as one of the finest competitors in PGA Championship history began in 1939 when he was defeated, 1-up by Henry Picard, in the finals. "Lord Byron" reached the finals in four of the next five PGA Championships, and etched his name on the Wanamaker Trophy twice, in 1940 and 1945. The Championship was not played in 1943 because of World War II. During the post-war years, the Wanamaker Trophy added the names of Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Chick Harbert, Doug Ford and Jack Burke.

In 1958, the format of the PGA Championship was changed from match play to stroke play. The new era in PGA Championship history added the names of Dow Finsterwald, Bob Rosburg, Jay Hebert and Gary Player to its Champions roster. In 1963, Jack Nicklaus won his first of a record-tying five PGA Championships. Fittingly, Nicklaus tied Hagen's record with his last PGA Championship triumph in 1980 at Oak Hill Country Club in Hagen's hometown of Rochester, N.Y.

In 1999, a 23-year-old named Tiger Woods became the fifth youngest winner in PGA Championship history when he outlasted Spain's 19-year-old Sergio Garcia by one stroke at Medinah (Ill.) Country Club.

Woods made the PGA Championship's return to Valhalla Golf Club in 2000 perhaps the most thrilling climax in history. In the process, Woods became the first back-to-back PGA Champion since Denny Shute.

In 2001 at The Atlanta Athletic Club, unheralded David Toms conquered the strongest field in golf history by finishing with a 15-under-par 265 to set a major championship record for 72 holes.

Rich Beem's stunning back-nine charge elevated him past Tiger Woods to the title in the 84th PGA Championship at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minn., and Shaun Micheel held off Chad Campbell on Sunday at brutally difficult Oak Hill Country Club to win the 85 th PGA Championship for his first career victory, icing the win with a spectacular tap-in birdie on No. 18.

Over the past nine decades, the PGA Championship has developed into one of the premier sporting events in the world. More than 100,000 people line the fairways of the nation's finest golf facilities during PGA Championship week to view the strongest, all-professional international field in major championship golf. As it was more than 80 years ago, the Wanamaker Trophy is still prized as one of the golf world's greatest treasures.

PGA Champions
Year Name
2005 Phil Mickelson
2004 Vijay Singh
2003 Shaun Micheel
2002 Rich Beem
2001 David Toms
2000 Tiger Woods
1999 Tiger Woods
1998 Vijay Singh
1997 Davis Love III
1996 Mark Brooks
1995 Steve Elkington
1994 Nick Price
1993 Paul Azinger
1992 Nick Price
1991 John Daly
1990 Wayne Grady
1989 Payne Stewart
1988 Jeff Sluman
1987 Larry Nelson
1986 Bob Tway
1985 Hubert Green
1984 Lee Trevino
1983 Hal Sutton
1982 Ray Floyd
1981 Larry Nelson
1980 Jack Nicklaus
1979 David Graham
1978 John Mahaffey
1977 Lanny Wadkins
1976 Dave Stockton
1975 Jack Nicklaus
1974 Lee Trevino
1973 Jack Nicklaus
1972 Gary Player
1971 Jack Nicklaus
1970 Dave Stockton
1969 Ray Floyd
1968 Julius Boros
1967 Don January
1966 Al Geiberger
1965 Dave Marr
1964 Bobby Nichols
1963 Jack Nicklaus
1962 Gary Player
1961 Jerry Barber
1960 Jay Hebert
1959 Bob Rosburg
1958 Dow Finsterwald
1957 Lionel Hebert
1956 Jack Burke
1955 Doug Ford
1954 Chick Harbert
1953 Walter Burkemo
1952 Jim Turnesa
1951 Sam Snead
1950 Chandler Harper
1949 Sam Snead
1948 Ben Hogan
1947 Jim Ferrier
1946 Ben Hogan
1945 Byron Nelson
1944 Bob Hamilton
1943 Not
1942 Sam Snead
1941 Vic Ghezzi
1940 Byron Nelson
1939 Henry Picard
1938 Paul Runyan
1937 Denny Shute
1936 Denny Shute
1935 Johnny Revolta
1934 Paul Runyan
1933 Gene Sarazen
1932 Olin Dutra
1931 Tom Creavy
1930 Tommy Armour
1929 Leo Diegel
1928 Leo Diegel
1927 Walter Hagen
1926 Walter Hagen
1925 Walter Hagen
1924 Walter Hagen
1923 Gene Sarazen
1922 Gene Sarazen
1921 Walter Hagen
1920 Jock Hutchison
1919 Jim Barnes
1918 Not
1917 Not
1916 Jim Barnes

Most Wins
5 - Walter Hagen (1921, 1924, 1925, 1926, 1927); Jack Nicklaus (1963, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1980)
3 - Gene Sarazen (1922, 1923, 1933); Sam Snead (1942, 1949, 1951)
2 - Jim Barnes (1916, 1919); Leo Diegel (1928, 1929); Ray Floyd (1969, 1982); Ben Hogan (1946, 1948); Byron Nelson (1940, 1945); Larry Nelson (1981, 1987); Gary Player (1962, 1972); Nick Price (1992, 1994); Paul Runyan (1934, 1938); Denny Shute (1936, 1937); Vijay Singh (1998, 2004); Dave Stockton (1970, 1976); Lee Trevino (1974, 1984); Tiger Woods (1999, 2000)

Youngest Winner
Gene Sarazen in 1922 (20 years, 5 months, 22 days)

Oldest Winner
Julius Boros in 1968 (48 years, 4 months, 18 days)


No news available yet. Please check back again tomorrow for some updates.