|The most comprehensive site on Golf Legends and the Majors (major golf tournaments)|
GOLF LEGENDS PLAYERS
MAJOR TOURNAMENTS LIST
TOURNAMENTS NO LONGER
GOLF LEGENDS HOME PAGE
GOLF LEGENDS SITEMAP
GOLF LEGENDS NEWS
GOLF LEGENDS CONTACT US
Webb exits after nightmare 82
AUSTRALIA'S Karrie Webb and 16-year-old Hawaiian Michelle Wie both had days to forget — but for different reasons — in the second round of the Women's British Open at Royal Lytham & St Annes.
Webb missed the cut out after an 82, her worst score in 43 major championships, while Wie, for the second time in her nine-month professional career, fell foul of the rule book and was handed a two-shot penalty.
On four-over-par 148, Wie still managed to survive the halfway cut, but was 10 shots behind the six-under-par 138 total posted by the American leader, Juli Inkster, a three-shot leader over Italy's Silvia Cavalleri.
Australia's Lindsey Wright was in a four-way tie for fourth after a second successive 71.
Webb, the only three-time winner and leading money winner on the LPGA Tour this year, had her resurgence stopped in its tracks by a horrendous 10-over-par round that put her way outside the cut on 14-over-par 158.
She had one birdie, three bogies, a double at the eighth and a horrendous eight at the short par-three ninth where she took four shots in a bunker and eventually had to hit out backwards.
"I think I was only in four bunkers this week, but it cost me dear," she said.
In the first round she ran up a triple-bogey eight at the sixth after also taking several shots to get out of the sand.
"But it's still a good season no matter what has happened this week and I can still look forward to a strong finish to the year," said the player who, just six days earlier, had been celebrating her season's hat-trick of victories at the Evian Masters in France.
Wie broke the rules when she touched a lump of moss behind her ball on her backswing in a greenside bunker at the par four 14th. The infringement was caught by the TV cameras and resulted in a two-shot penalty, turning a round of 72 into a 74.
Wie didn't question the decision, freely admitting that she doesn't know all the rules of golf.
"I knew I hit the moss but thought if you swung through it was OK," she said. "I guess I knew the rule wrong, but that's what happens when you're 16. It's a learning experience."
World No. 1 Annika Sorenstam stayed in touch on one-under-par 143 after a 71. She had five birdies, two bogies and a double-bogey six at the eighth.
Read more at The Age
No news available yet. Please check back again tomorrow for some updates.