Go to Golf Legends Homepage The most comprehensive site on Golf Legends and the Majors (major golf tournaments)

British Amateur (The Amateur)

The Amateur Championship, also known as the British Amateur Championship is a golf tournament held annually by the Royal and Ancient Club of St. Andrews in the UK. It was once considered a major tournament but its importance has declined after the 2nd World War.



  • LinkAway Golf






The Royal Liverpool Club of Hoylake, England, in 1885 held an informal championship tournament open to any British amateur golfer. A. E. MacFie was the winner, out of a field of 44 entrants.

Because of that tournament's success, the Royal and Ancient Club of St. Andrews, Scotland, staged the first formal British Amateur championship the following year. In 1922, the Royal and Ancient ruled that the 1885 event belonged on the official list and that MacFie was to be considered the first British Amateur champion.

The tournament has always been held at match play. For the first 11 years, all matches were played over 18 holes. In 1896, the championship match was extended to 36 holes. Now the quarter- and semi-finals are also 36-hole matches.

Walter Travis, a native of Australia who had emigrated to the United States, became the first foreigner to win the championship in 1904. The first American native to win was Jesse Sweetser, in 1926. However, the most famous American winner of the competition was Bobby Jones, whose 1930 victory was part of the only known Grand Slam (winning all four majors in a calendar year) in golf history.


Year Name
1885 Allen MacFie
1886 Horace Hutchinson
1887 Horace Hutchinson
1888 John Ball
1889 Johnny Laidley
1890 John Ball
1891 Johnny Laidley
1892 John Ball
1893 Peter Anderson
1894 John Ball
1895 Leslie Balfour-Melville
1896 Freddie Tait
1897 Jack Allan
1898 Freddie Tait
1899 John Ball
1900 Harold Hilton
1901 Harold Hilton
1902 Charles Hutchings
1903 Robert Maxwell
1904 Walter Travis
1905 Arthur Barry
1906 James Robb
1907 John Ball
1908 E.A. Lassen
1909 Robert Maxwell
1910 John Ball
1911 Harold Hilton
1912 John Ball
1913 Harold Hilton
1914 J.L.C. Jenkins
1915-19 NOT HELD
1920 Cyril Tolley
1921 William Hunter
1922 Ernest Holderness
1923 Roger Wethered
1924 Ernest Holderness
1925 Robert Harris
1926 Jesse Sweetser
1927 William Tweddell
1928 Thomas Perkins
1929 Cyril Tolley
1930 Bobby Jones
1931 Eric Smith
1932 John deForest
1933 Michael Scott
1934 Lawson Little
1935 Lawson Little
1936 Hector Thomson
1937 Robert Sweeny Jr.
1938 Charles Yates
1939 Alexander Kyle
1940-45 NOT HELD
1946 James Bruen
1947 William Turnesa
1948 Frank Stranahan
1949 Samuel McCready
1950 Frank Stranahan
1951 Richard Chapman
1952 Harvie Ward
1953 Joe Carr
1954 Douglas Bachli
1955 Joe Conrad
1956 John Beharrell
1957 Reid Jack
1958 Joe Carr
1959 Deane Beman
1960 Joe Carr
1961 Michael Bonallack
1962 Richard Davies
1963 Michael Lunt
1964 Gordon Clark
1965 Michael Bonallack
1966 Bobby Cole
1967 Bob Dickson
1968 Michael Bonallack
1969 Michael Bonallack
1970 Michael Bonallack
1971 Steve Melnyk
1972 Trevor Homer
1973 Dick Siderowf
1974 Trevor Homer
1975 Vinny Giles
1976 Dick Siderowf
1977 Peter McEvoy
1978 Peter McEvoy
1979 Jay Sigel
1980 Duncan Evans
1981 Phillipe Ploujoux
1982 Martin Thompson
1983 Philip Parkin
1984 Jose-Maria Olazabal
1985 Garth McGimpsey
1986 David Curry
1987 Paul Mayo
1988 Christian Hardin
1989 Stephen Dodd
1990 Rolf Muntz
1991 Gary Wolstenholme
1992 Stephen Dundas
1993 Ian Pyman
1994 Lee James
1995 Gordon Sherry
1996 Warren Bledon
1997 Craig Watson
1998 Sergio Garcia
1999 Graeme Storm
2000 Mikko Ilonen
2001 Michael Hoey
2002 Alejandro Larrazabal
2003 Gary Wolstenholme
2004 Stuart Wilson
2005 Brian McElhinney

Most Wins

8 John Ball
5 Michael Bonallack
4 Harold Hilton
3 Joe Carr
2 Horace Hutchinson
2 Ernest Holderness
2 Trevor Homer
2 Johnny Laidley
2 Lawson Little
2 Peter McEvoy
2 Dick Siderowf
2 Frank Stranahan
2 Freddie Tait
2 Cyril Tolley

Tour Report: Golf Channel?s broadcast notes Golf Channel will offer 17-1/2 hours of prime-time live coverage from each round of this week’s season-opening PGA TOUR event, the Hyundai Tournament of Champions. Here are a few broadcast notes: AIRTIMES Friday 5:30-10 p.m. (Live) / 10:30 p.m.-3 a.m. (Replay) Saturday 5:30-10 p.m. (Live) / 10:30 p.m.-3 a.m. (Replay) Sunday 5:30-10 p.m. (Live) / [...]

PDGA: Scotty Burtard Wins Disc Golf's Chaining in the New Year The Chaining of the New Year took place in Milwaukee, Wisconsin at the Dretzka Park Winter Disc Golf Course on December 31, 2011, a perfect day to end a great year. This PDGA sanctioned C-Tier event had 65 disc golf players come out to compete on this rather mild winter day.

PDGA: Josh Taylor Steals the Show at Disc Golf's Last Chance for Points in Dexter, Michigan On the last day of 2011, 73 disc golfers came out to compete in the Last Chance for Points in Dexter, Michigan on the Hudson Hills Metropark Disc Golf Course. It was Josh Taylor of Mount Pleasant, Michigan who stole the show with a final score of 5-under par.

Georgia mandates golf cart safety Golf cart owners in Georgia now have stricter requirements to follow if they plan to drive their carts on roadways.

Disc Golf's Ice Bowl Events in January: Columbus, Ohio and Mt. Pleasant, Michigan The 2012 disc golf Ice Bowl events have an especially honorable mission, and that is feeding the hungry. Both of these great January disc golf tournaments will work toward fulfilling that goal. 21st Annual Columbus Ice Bowl The 21st Annual Columbus Ice Bowl will take place on...

January 2012 Disc Golf Events: The Big Island Open in Pahoa, Hawaii How does a game of disc golf in the beautiful Hawaiian Islands sound? While the winter has technically just started, up here in the Pacific Northwest a little sun and tropical paradise sound pretty nice right about now. The Big Island Open will be played near Pahoa, Hawaii, a town...

PDGA: Results of Disc Golf's Greg Carter Championship The Greg Carter Championship, formerly the CPF Championship, took place on New Year's Eve in Athens, Alabama at the Athens Sports Complex. The event is Athens longest running tournament, and now honors the memory of Greg Carter who had his largest payday there in a second place...

Golf to inspire youth Patrick Kelly and Tewanee Joseph hope to offer aboriginal youth the chance to develop their golf talents.

Winter Golf Blues and a Putting Solution It is freezing outside and your local greens have a thick layer of that white fluffy stuff. That's right, winter is here. Unfortunately for many, that means that the local golf courses are closed and a weekend round is just not possible.

Sabal Palm golf course land closer to becoming housing project A former golf course that ensnarled city officials in public corruption scandals is close to becoming a residential community.